ABOUT RUSSIAN WOMEN
HOW AVOID FRAUD
Pearls of Russia
SRETENSKY MONASTERY, situated in Bolshaya Lubyanka, 19, was founded in 1397 by a Moscow prince Basil (Dmitry Donskoy-s son) in honour of the Vladimirskaya Icon of the Mother of God, which protected Moscow from the war lord Tamurlane.
The first church of the Sretenie of the Mother of God was laid at the place where Muscovites in their religious procession received the Vladimirskaya Icon of the Mother of God, brought from Vladimir.
In a century a stone Sretensky Cathedral was erected on that place. Dolmat Ikonnik painted it. Nearby a church of Maria the Egyptian was built.
At the end of the XVII century a cathedral of Nikolay the Wonderer and a belfry were erected by the gates of the monastery. In 1761 a unique 8-meter-high cross created by Gregory Shumaev was installed in the Sretensky Cathedral.
The Sretensky Monastery not once was in the centre of sad events of the Russian history. The Salt rebellion began by the walls of the monastery.
During the French invasion the possessions of the monastery were plundered, and in 1917 the demolition of the monastery began: old churches and the belfry were disassembled, the Sretensky cathedral was turned into a dormitory.
Many victims of repressions are buried on the territory of the monastery. In 1962 the Sretensky cathedral was reconstructed and a Scientific Restoration Centre was put there. In 1991 divine services were restored, the monkshood of the monastery began to recover.
At present a higher Orthodox monasterial school and a scientific centre studying the Turinskaya Cloth are located in the monastery. A Sunday school and a centre for drug addicts "Overcoming" are also situated there.
The publishing house of the Sretensky monastery is one of the largest among church publishing houses.
Address: 19, Bol. Lubyanka St., Moscow
Underground: Chistye Prudy
Russian Bride Guide
In Association with AFA
7320 N Dreamy Draw Drive
Phoenix, Arizona 85020
FAX (602) 468-1119